The Original Sensational Showmen

The Original Sensational Showmen
National Guard Armory-Concordia - 1965

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

The Fabulous Flippers-Where are they Now

So where are The Fabulous Flippers now? (As of 1998 article) Dennes Frederick, bass guitarist, lives in Nashville and works as a chemist. Doug Crotty, sax player, practices law in Garden City. Jerry Tammen, drummer, is an investor in Larned. Gary Claxton, sax player, is in the insurance business in Bella Vista, Ark. Terry Wierman, lead guitarist, is a carpenter in Hays. Danny Hein, vocalist, guitarist and keyboardist, is in the real estate business in Bella Vista. Roger Lewis, lead trumpet player, is a band director at Butler County Community College in El Dorado. And Loewen, after moving to Nashville and pursuing a career in contemporary Christian music, is now a property manager in Lawrence.

Thursday, December 6, 2012

Rising Suns poster

South Dakota Rock and Roll Music Association 2013

SIOUX FALLS — Tyndall’s Groveland Park is among the 2013 inductees to the South Dakota Rock and Roll Music Association Hall of Fame, the association announced Tuesday. The April 13 induction at the Ramkota in Sioux Falls will include 10 bands from South Dakota, Iowa and Minnesota, three venues, and four individuals who were early contributors to the enjoyment of rock ’n’ roll music in South Dakota.Playing at the 2013 induction are The Hursmen and Ma’s Boys, from Sioux Falls; Nickel Bag of Soul, from Flandreau; Outer Limits, from Madison; Burch Ray & the Walkers, from Spearfish; Lads of Sherwood, from Sisseton; and The Roselles Brothers, from Lead. Also performing will be two Iowa bands, The 7 Sons and The Velaires, from Sioux City. The Trashmen of “Surfin’ Bird” fame have also agreed to perform.The Trashmen, from the Twin Cities, became world famous with the release of the 1963 song “Surfin’ Bird,” a medley of two songs by the Rivingtons, “Papa-Oom-Mow-Mow” and “The Bird’s the Word.” Most recently, the song again hit No. 3 in the United Kingdom in 2010 after a Facebook promotion. The association also recognizes venues — dance halls, popular lounges and other facilities — that were instrumental in bringing people together to enjoy rock ’n’ roll. Inductees for 2013 include the White Eagle Ballroom, of New Effington; Horatios, of Brookings; Tyndall’s Groveland Park; and Lyal’s Music Store, of Lake Preston. Individuals to be honored in 2013 are Promoter Dick Matousek, from Sioux City, and DJ Ray Durkee, from Aberdeen, with Dennis Brown, aka Jim Rose, Aberdeen, winning the Lifetime Achievement Award and the late Lloyd Nerland, Huron, winning the Spirit of the Music Award. Now in its fifth year, the induction ceremony annually sells out to a crowd of 1,600 people. Details, tickets and VIP tables are available for reservations online at

Dark Horse Inn, Hays, Kansas